Profiles: Nic Satow, The Young Urbanite

Nic Satow LGBTRaised in Highland Heights, Ohio, a suburb of Cleveland, Nic Satow graduated from Mayfield High School in 2005, and then attended both Cleveland State University and Kent State University to study advertising. In 2009, he joined Marcus Thomas LLC, an integrated communications agency, managing digital and social media, before moving to RightTurn.com, a start-up eCommerce site where he now heads social media, PR and event marketing. Nic has also run the Gay Games 9 social media and event marketing committees since 2011.

You chair the social media committee for Gay Games IX. What does it mean to you that Cleveland is hosting the Games? Cleveland winning Gay Games 9 is one of the most exciting and progressive opportunities Cleveland has ever had. Being born and raised in Cleveland, I’d have to say it’s pretty open and welcoming to the gay community. Most wouldn’t consider Cleveland a “gay” city or destination because we don’t have a concentrated “gayborhood” full of bars and retail like a WeHo or Boystown, but that isn’t necessarily true. There is a pretty active gay community in Cleveland that thrives as neighbors among all Clevelanders. I think the Gay Games coming to Cleveland will remind Clevelanders, Americans and the world that gays don’t just live in Chelsea or the South End and that there are places like Cleveland where you can find the “everyday gay” living a fabulous life right in the heart of Midwestern America.

You recently moved to downtown Cleveland. Why did you commit to living in Cleveland? What are the advantages to living downtown? Yes, I recently moved to the East 4th neighborhood, and I’m loving it! There is energy in the neighborhood that you don’t necessarily get as a young professional living in suburbia. It’s beneficial for me to be in an area full of life and activity, and it feels good to be part of the group of young professionals, or “pioneers” who are actively rebuilding the downtown neighborhoods and rejuvenating the local businesses. Cleveland has so much culture to offer, and I love its character and people. I have a great job just minutes from my new loft, and, for the first time, I’ll start to utilize the city’s public transportation. I’m within walking distance to some of Cleveland’s best restaurants, bars, music venues and pro sports stadiums, and I’m centrally located between where I grew up on the east side and the life I’ve created for myself as a young adult on the west side of Cleveland. I guess East 4th is my sort of “happy place.”

What are some of the fun nightlife spots in Cleveland? What places do you recommend to visitors? I work/play with a remarkable group of friends. The crew is made up of all ages of gay and straight men and woman, and we’re all very social. When the group isn’t attending a party, fundraiser or concert, we frequent gay bars like Bounce and Twist, but I can guarantee you’ll find us bar hopping in the Ohio City, Tremont or downtown districts at least once a weekend. We don’t segregate ourselves to only gay bars because that’s not what Cleveland’s about. The up-and-coming neighborhoods, bars, restaurants and art scenes are very gay friendly, and I frequent them with my boys or even on the occasional date. From museums like MOCA, The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and The Cleveland Museum of Art, to authentic neighborhoods like Little Italy, my friends and I really consider all of Cleveland our playground. Sure, Bounce and Twist are definitely gay staples of Cleveland that every LGBT tourist should visit, but I wouldn’t let a friend visit this city without experiencing some fun on Lake Erie, a visit to our beautiful Metroparks and the rest of the culture that Cleveland has to offer.

Tags: , , ,

About PositivelyCleveland

Positively Cleveland is the destination marketing organization that has been promoting business and leisure tourism to Cleveland for more than 75 years.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

